Skip navigation

Last week I installed Windows 7 beta on my 1.6GHz Acer One. These laptops are relatively slow when compared to today’s standards but once you experience the lightweight design and ease of travel, you forget about the lack of power. I love this laptop. It ran Windows Xp SP3 fairly well but what about the new Windows 7 ?

Did I already say I love this laptop?  –  I am no Windows guy – actually i hate Microsoft and all that comes in contact with it but.. and a really big BUT…Windows 7 runs even better than Windows XP. Ok, Ok, I admit I had to customize the theme a little, since once i had my applications up and running, shifting from one window to another was slightly slow (some would not mind it) so i left the effects which i personally enjoyed and there you go, a piece of art!

As you can see from the photo, one of my Penguins was not too pleased, he constantly complained in fact!

p1010073

Now we see how long it will take before the booting up process becomes slow –  Penguins still prevail over Mico$oft for stability and speed!

Update: I ran into an issue with the Wifi module – Atheros Chipset. Apparently if you switch off the wifi after a reboot, the driver is lost. The latest driver on the acer site did not solve the issue.The below driver however (which is more recent) sorted it out perfectly.

http://www.croftophile.fr/pilote/atheros_v7.6.1.194.exewrek

Leave a Reply

